Board of Directors

Marg Epp

Chairperson

Marg Epp

Chairperson
Cambridge Bay

Marg Epp has been the Chairperson of the Board since 2017.  She is currently serving her third term since being appointed to the Board in 2010.

Ms. Epp is the Executive Director of Kitikmeot Community Futures Inc.  She holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from the University of Saskatchewan in addition to certificates in Sociology and Native Studies.  Ms. Epp has her CCP certificate from the Credit Institute of Canada and a PCP from the Canadian Payroll Association.  

Ms. Epp is an active volunteer in Cambridge Bay, which included a term on the local hamlet council and involvement with local and Territorial minor hockey.  She is currently on the organizing committee of the Kitikmeot Trade Show and the Kitikmeot Chamber of Commerce. 

 

Tracy Wallace

Vice-Chairperson

Tracy Wallace

Vice-Chairperson
Rankin Inlet
Ms. Wallace has been a Board member since 2016 and is currently serving her first term.  She is also the Secretary-Treasurer of Atuqtuarvik Corporation.   
 
Ms. Wallace is an experienced business consultant with a demonstrated history of working in the financial services industry.  She brings experience with Non-profit Organizations and skills in negotiation, business planning, coaching, and team building.
 
She holds a diploma in Business Administration with a major in Marketing from Red River College.  Ms. Wallace’s diploma in Business Administration also provides her with expertise in management and communication. 
 
Ms. Wallace has taken the Investments and Securities courses from the Institute of Canadian Bankers and is a graduate of the Nunavut Sivuniksavut program. 
 
Ms. Wallace is currently employed with the Kivalliq Inuit Association in Rankin Inlet and has previously worked for a number of departments in the Government of Nunavut.  She was also the Chief Operating Officer of Atuqtuarvik Corporation and the Senior Administrative Officer for Nunavut Sivuniksavut. 
 
Ms. Wallace was a past recipient of Young Entrepreneur Award from Business Development Bank of Canada.

Nastania Mullin

Director at Large

Nastania Mullin

Director at Large
Iqaluit

Mr. Mullin is a recent appointee to the Board.  Since being appointed in 2017, he has begun working towards his Juris Doctor of Law (JD).  He is also currently the President of the Nunavut Law Student Society.

Mr. Mullin has been held positions with the Government of Nunavut, the Government of Canada, and Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated. He has also owned and operated his own small business.

He has a Bachelor of Business (major in marketing) as well as a Diploma in Business Administration.

Philip Otukol

Director at Large

Philip Otukol

Director at Large
Iqaluit

Philip Otukol is one of the newest members to join the Nunavut Business Credit Corporation board. Appointed to the Board in 2017, Philip brings a wealth of personal and professional experience that is instrumental to the work we do. While easygoing by nature, he is direct and decisive when he needs to be.

In addition to being a project management professional, currently employed with the Nunavut Artic College, Philip has experience working in the financial service sector, information technology sector, and the pharmaceutical industry.

Philip has completed certificates in both Project Management, from the University of Toronto, and Canadian Investment Funds, through professional development at CIBC. Philip currently holds positions on the board of directors for the City of Iqaluit Development Appeals Board and the Territorial Board of Revision.

Tommy Owlijoot

Director at Large

Tommy Owlijoot

Director at Large
Arviat

Tommy Owlijoot currently resides in Arviat where he is a Regional Planner for the Nunavut Planning Commission. He has worked in both public and private organizations within Nunavut for over 30 years with varying roles and responsibilities. Mr. Owlijoot brings a great deal of knowledge of the business environment within the Kivalliq region.

Before taking the position of Regional Planner with the Nunavut Planning Commission Mr. Owlijoot has served as:

  • Executive Director, NTI Cultural and Social Development department
  • Manager, Arviat Hunters and Trappers Organization
  • Municipal Liaison Officer, Hamlet of Arviat
  • Regional Manager, NTCL Kivalliq Region
  • Executive Director, Keewatin Wildlife board
  • Secretary Manager, Arviat District Education Authority
  • Instructor, Nunavut Arctic College

Donald Havioyak

Director at Large

Donald Havioyak

Director at Large
Kugluktuk
Mr. Havioyak is currently serving his third term since being appointed to the Board in 2010.

Mr. Havioyak is also currently the Chairperson of Nunavut Development Corporation and was appointed in 2009.

He was elected as the MLA for Kugluktuk in the first Nunavut Legislative Assembly and served as the Minister of Elders and Youth.  Mr. Havioyak’s involvement in politics also includes being President of Kitikmeot Inuit Association, Mayor of Kugluktuk, and a director of a number of other Inuit organizations.

Mr. Havioyak is currently the Community Relations Officer for Mineral and Metals Group (MMG).  He has previously held different positions over the span of eighteen years, both in the GNWT and the Government of Nunavut.

 

Allan Lahure

Director at Large

Allan Lahure

Director at Large
Baker Lake
For the past 30 years, Mr. Lahure has operated a successful contracting and supply company, based from Baker Lake, Nunavut, carrying on business in all parts of Nunavut, as well as in Manitoba.

Mr. Lahure’s responsibilities include direction, management, and vision for the day-to-day operations of the company, including, but not limited to business development, project management, human resource management, and financial control.

Mr. Lahure has been responsible for over-seeing all aspects of the project costing, and the delivery of successful completion of many large projects in the construction field, and the proper time management, and ensuring all resources, both material and human are in place to meet project requirements. 

The company under the direction of Mr. Lahure has collaborated with many organizations, both public and private to bring successful completion to many varied construction projects throughout Nunavut and Manitoba.

Mr. Lahure completed formal education in both business administration, as well as various trades, and over the past number of years has completed upgrading and technical, and non-technical training as required, keeping himself informed of current trend, in all aspects of business, including management, technical, and computer skills.

During his many years in business, Mr. Lahure has served on many community boards, and service groups, giving many hours to the development and on-going vision and success of the North in general, and Nunavut in particular.

Greg Cayen

Director at Large

Greg Cayen

Director at Large
Iqaluit
Greg Cayen currently resides in Iqaluit where he is the President and CEO of NCC Nunavut Investment Group Inc. He has approximately 20 years working in the north with various development corporations, tribal councils and private industry organizations in financial management positions. Mr. Cayen has previously served on the Board of Directors for the Northwest Territories Power Corporation and currently serves as a Director for the Institute of Chartered Accountants of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut.

Mr. Cayen is a Certified Management Consultant (C.M.C.), a Fellow Chartered Accountant (FCA), and has a Bachelor of Business Administration Degree (B.B.A.). Before becoming President and CEO of NCC Investment Group Inc. he served as:
  • Chief Financial Officer of the Gwich’in Tribal Council and Gwich’in Development Corporation
  • Chief Financial Officer of Beaver Enterprises Ltd.
  • Vice-President, Finance Nunavut Construction Corporation
  • Controller, N.W.T. Metis Development Corporation
  • Audit Manager, Mackay & Partners Chartered Accountants; and,
  • As a Partner with Collins Barrow, Chartered Accountants

Le conseil d'administration

Marg Epp

Présidente du conseil

Marg Epp

Présidente du conseil
Cambridge Bay
Marg Epp est présidente du conseil depuis 2017.  Elle en est à son troisième mandat. Sa première nomination remonte à 2010.

Mme Epp est directrice générale du Kitikmeot Community Futures Inc.  Elle possède un baccalauréat en commerce de l’Université de la Saskatchewan, en plus de certificats en sociologie et en études autochtones.  Mme Epp est titulaire d’une attestation de professionnelle certifiée du crédit délivrée par l’Institut canadien du crédit et de spécialiste en conformité de la paie de l’Association canadienne de la paie.  

Mme Epp est une bénévole engagée à Cambridge Bay. Elle est entre autres membre du conseil de hameau et s’implique activement dans le hockey à l’échelle locale et territoriale.  Elle est actuellement membre du comité organisateur de la Foire commerciale du Kitikmeot et de la Chambre de commerce du Kitikmeot. 

Tracy Wallace

Vice-présidente

Tracy Wallace

Vice-présidente
Rankin Inlet
Mme Wallace est membre du conseil d’administration depuis 2016 et en est à son premier mandat.  Elle est également secrétaire-trésorière d’Atuqtuarvik Corporation.   
 
Consultante en affaires d’expérience, Mme Wallace travaille depuis longtemps dans le domaine des services financiers.  Elle jouit également d’une solide expérience des organismes à but non lucratif, en planification d’entreprise, coaching et consolidation d’équipes.
 
Elle détient un diplôme en administration des affaires avec majeure en marketing du collège Red River.  Son diplôme en administration des affaires fait aussi en sorte qu’elle possède une expertise en gestion et en communication. 
 
Mme Wallace a suivi des cours sur les fonds de placement et les valeurs mobilières de l’Institut des banquiers canadiens, en plus d’être une diplômée du programme Nunavut Sivuniksavut.  
 
Mme Wallace travaille actuellement pour l’Association des Inuits du Kivalliq. Auparavant, elle a occupé divers emplois au sein du gouvernement du Nunavut.  Elle a aussi occupé le poste de chef des opérations d’Atuqtuarvik Corporation et celui d’agente à l’administration de Nunavut Sivuniksavut. 
 
Mme Wallace fut récipiendaire du prix Jeune entrepreneur décerné par la Banque de développement du Canada.

Nastania Mullin

Nastania Mullin

Iqaluit

M. Mullin a récemment été nommé au conseil. Depuis sa nomination en 2017, il a commencé à étudier pour obtenir son baccalauréat en droit. Il est aussi actuellement président de la Nunavut Law Student Society.

M. Mullin a occupé des postes au gouvernement du Nunavut, au gouvernement du Canada et à la Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated. Il a également possédé et exploité sa propre petite entreprise.

Il est titulaire d’un baccalauréat en commerce (spécialisation en marketing) et d’un diplôme en administration des affaires.

Philip Otukol

Philip Otukol

Philip Otukol est l'un des plus récents membres du conseil d'administration de la Société de crédit commercial du Nunavut. Nommé au conseil en 2017, M. Otukol apporte une riche expérience personnelle et professionnelle qui est essentielle au travail que nous faisons. Bien que décontracté de nature, il est direct et décisif quand il le faut.

En plus d'être professionnel de la gestion de projet et actuellement employé du Collège de l'arctique du Nunavut, M. Otukol a travaillé dans le secteur des services financiers, dans le secteur des technologies de l'information et dans l'industrie pharmaceutique.

Il détient un certificat en gestion de projet de l'Université de Toronto et un certificat en fonds d'investissement canadien obtenu dans le cadre de perfectionnement professionnel à la Banque CIBC. M. Otukol occupe actuellement des postes au conseil d'administration du Conseil d'appel du développement de la ville d'Iqaluit et du Conseil de révision territorial.

Tommy Owlijoot

Tommy Owlijoot

Arviat

Tommy Owlijoot réside à Arviat et occupe le poste de planificateur régional au sein de la Commission d’aménagement du Nunavut. Il a exercé diverses fonctions dans des organismes des secteurs public et privé du Nunavut pendant plus de 30 ans. M. Owlijoot contribue au conseil d’administration par ses connaissances approfondies du contexte commercial de la région de Kivalliq.

Avant de remplir les fonctions de planificateur régional de la Commission d’aménagement du Nunavut, M. Owlijoot a occupé les postes suivants :

  • chef de la direction, Service du développement culturel et social de NTI;
  • directeur de l’Organisation de chasseurs et de trappeurs d’Arviat;
  • agent de liaison municipal du hameau d’Arviat;
  • directeur général de NTCL pour la région de Kivalliq;
  • chef de la direction du Conseil de gestion des ressources fauniques de la région de Keewatin;
  • secrétaire-directeur de l’administration scolaire de district d’Arviat;
  • chargé de cours au Collège de l’Arctique du Nunavut.

Donald Havioyak

Donald Havioyak

Kugluktuk
M. Havioyak en est à son troisième mandat. Sa première nomination au conseil remonte à 2010.

M. Havioyak est aussi l’actuel président de la Société de développement du Nunavut et fut nommé en 2009.

Il fut élu député de Kugluktuk à la première Assemblée législative du Nunavut où il a été choisi ministre de la Jeunesse et des Ainés.  Son implication en politique inclut également les postes, de président de l’Association des Inuits du Kitikmeot, maire de Kugluktuk et administrateur de plusieurs autres organisations inuites.

M. Havioyak est actuellement agent des relations communautaires pour le Mineral and Metals Group (MMG).  Précédemment, et durant quelque dix-huit ans, M. Havioyak a travaillé au sein du GTNO et du gouvernement du Nunavut.
 

Allan Lahure

Allan Lahure

Baker Lake
Au cours des 30 dernières années, M. Lahure a dirigé une entreprise de travaux et d’approvisionnement prospère établie à Baker Lake, au Nunavut, qui a exercé ses activités partout au Nunavut ainsi qu’au Manitoba.

Les responsabilités de M. Lahure comprennent la direction, la gestion et l’orientation des activités quotidiennes de la société, y compris, notamment, le développement commercial, la gestion de projets, la gestion des ressources humaines et le contrôle financier.

Greg Cayen

Greg Cayen

Iqaluit

Greg Cayen réside actuellement à Iqaluit. Il est le président et le PDG du NCC Nunavut Investment Group Inc. Il a cumulé près de 20 années d’expérience en gestion financière dans plusieurs sociétés de développement, conseils tribaux et organisations du secteur privé du Nord canadien. M. Cayen a déjà siégé au conseil d’administration de la Société d’énergie des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et rempli actuellement le rôle de directeur de l’Institut des comptables agréés des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et du Nunavut.

M. Cayen est un conseiller en gestion agréé (C.M.C.) et un Fellow des comptables agréés (F.C.A). Il est également titulaire d’un baccalauréat en administration des affaires (B.A.A.). Avant d’être président et PDG du NCC Nunavut Investment Group Inc., il a occupé les postes suivants :

  • directeur financier pour le Conseil tribal des Gwich’in et la Gwich’in Development Corporation;
  • directeur financier pour Beaver Enterprises Ltd.;
  • vice-président aux finances pour la Nunavut Construction Corporation;
  • contrôleur pour la N.W.T. Metis Development Corporation;
  • directeur de la vérification pour Mackay & Partners Chartered Accountants; et
  • partenaire de Collins Barrow, comptables agréés.